Spanish Lookout

The last few days I’ve been driving around in my pretty little car. I drove up to Spanish Lookout, Belize’s largest Mennonite community. Again, this is completely different to what I have seen in Belize so far.  Wide open spaces – farmland.

_DSC2306.JPG

The Mennonite women are dressed traditionally in cotton frocks and head scarves. The men wear straw hats, white shirts, suspenders and dark pants. Occasionally you come across the horse-drawn buggies. Looking at the people you would never expect such a booming infrastructure in Spanish Lookout. The buildings are massive and modern.

It is really beautiful up there. Unfortunately the day was very overcast, but I can imagine that the view must be breathtaking on a clear day.

Crossing the Belize River – you can see the pillars of a bridge that never got built.

_DSC2303.JPG

A closer look at what is growing ON the trees 🙂

_DSC2307.JPG

Wood carvings offered on the side of the road.

_DSC2308.JPG

_DSC2313.JPG

_DSC2314.JPG

BTW, road signs are mostly non existent. That proofs to be a problem if you have no sense of direction – like me 🙂 Needless to say that after I passed the same building for the third time, I realised that I am driving around in circles.

On my way back, I stopped in the twin town of San Ignacio – Saint Elena, to grab a coke. And of course, disaster strikes: The car does not start. Not a light or any sign of battery life. Luckily I had the number of my new best friend, Lisa, stored in my phone. Lisa immediately came to the rescue – with leads to jump start the car. Turned out that the connectors to the battery came loose while driving on the sand road.

Once P.F. (short for Pathfinder) was rattling again, I followed Lisa to her new house. It is STUNNING! So stunning that I forgot to take a picture. But I am sure this wasn’t the last time I visited Lisa. She has 3 lovely boys – 2 of them are the same age as my youngest. They will have a great time playing together in the future!

More to follow!

 

One thought on “Spanish Lookout

  1. Sharon P says:

    Ina,
    I am truly enjoying your blog and your writing makes me feel like I am right there with you! This is such an exciting adventure and I love that you are including photos.
    Looking forward to the next installment…

    Zenhugs,
    Sharon

Leave a Reply

