My move to Belize

IMG_0124

After many months of planning I have finally arrived in Belize. My first stop is in San Ignacio – it’s a very central location from which I can explore the entire country.

First impression: Culture Shock!

Coming from Germany you first need to get used to the building style. The houses are very colorful. Blue, green, red, orange, and yellow – just like a rainbow – and all of them could use a new coat of paint. The infrastructure reminds me a lot of South Africa. Electricity and phone wires are above ground on wooden poles. The ground floor of every house holds some kind of a business – a small convenient store, a restaurant, a bar, clothing, furniture or appliances. The owners sit in front of their shops.

IMG_2297

I arrived rather late in the day and was tired and hungry. The 8 hour time difference didn’t help much either. Right after unpacking my luggage, I collapsed into bed at 6pm. Doubts were creeping in: Did I make a mistake? Is this really where I want to live with my family?

IMG_2301

The next day I began my explorations of San Ignacio. Yesterday I only saw the peeling paint on the houses; today I saw the happy faces of all the people. After a decent breakfast at Pops and a chat with the famous Bob I felt a lot better. At 9:30 my new online friend, Lisa, picked me up to check out some apartments. I immediately found a place that would be perfect. A cozy little condo – complete with 2 lovely neighbors. Later on we checked out some cars. Again, lucky first try – 2 possible cars that I need to test drive on Monday. Lisa offered to help on Tuesday with the registration and insurance for the car. My guess is, on Wednesday I’ll be extending the radius of exploration 🙂

The kids insist that I check out the beaches, before deciding on our next home. I gave myself 4 weeks to learn as much as possible about the country. If it was just me and my husband, the choice would be easy. Bringing 3 kids and grandma along does make it a bit more difficult. The schools are very important. As a parent you have a responsibility towards the kids and I intend to structure our lives around their education. They are only part of your life for a short time, before leaving the nest.

More from me later 🙂

ZenHugs
Ina

13 thoughts on “My move to Belize

  1. Anja meeter says:

    Wow…. what a wonderful story to read. I love the way you write. Always puts a big smile on my face. I am so looking forward to reading all your blogs and learning about Belize in this way. Lots of tangle hugs and much love from crazy south Africa ❤❤

  2. Tricia Long says:

    So glad you made it safely to Belize! It’s going to be so much fun to follow along and read about “Ina’s Big Adventure”. Many years ago ,before we had kids, we went on vacation to Nova Scotia and was struck by how colorful the houses were in the coastal towns. Every hue of the rainbow. I had to chuckle at your description of wooden electric poles as that is what we have too. Looking forward to future posts and photos. Even my husband read your post this morning. Have fun in your explorations

  3. Nicole says:

    It is amazing that you get to do this adventure 😀 Good luck finding everything what is needed to give your family a beautiful home 🙂 Greetings Nicole XXX

  4. ellenwolters says:

    Ow my! How exciting it is!!! Good to have luck with some houses and cars. good thing to take 4 weeks to check out the whole island. Thinking about you and wishing you tons of LUCK 🍀🍀🍀🍀

  5. Jacinta says:

    Wow!! Culture shock maybe! I’ll be following your adventure even if it’s nothing more…….I am definitely planning to come visit so please stay longer than 4 weeks;) I look forward to seeing pictures of those beaches too and your new condo and those smiling faces. …is it very hot? xxx

    • inasonnenmoser says:

      I will stay MUCH longer than 4 weeks. I LOVE it here 🙂
      Yes, it is pretty hot, but there is always a nice breeze. You learn to avoid being outside between 11am and 2pm. Shame, now I have to do afternoon naps 😉

  6. lindylu2u2 says:

    What a wonderful experience for your whole family! Please keep us informed so we can pretend we are there,too.Oh, how I envy you!!!:)

  7. Barry Norton says:

    Hello Ina: My wife and I are good friends with Elaine Pierce, however, the two of us combined are only half as smart as Elaine is.(:)) We have been to Belize numerous times and love it immensely, I do not want to spoil your adventure and say much, but, I’ll say this, once you settle down and see the Country, you’ll find the People of Belize some of the warmest on the Planet. We have been from Punta Gorda to Corozol and all places in between, numerous cayes as well, busy touristy ones like Caye Caulker and Ambergis to the more remote ones like Tobacco….if you’d like any additional info or tips, my email is everestconsulting@hotmail.com, enjoy yourselves and see every corner of this beautiful Country…

Leave a Reply

